The Machinery

The Machinery is an action-packed thriller in eight episodes set in the borderlands between Norway and Sweden, and between truth and lies. The Machinery premiered on Viaplay May 24th 2020.

Olle Hultén is a regular family father. After a company outing he wakes up on the ferry between Sandefjord (Norway) and Strömstad (Sweden), with no clue how he got there. Next to him there is a bag filled with money, a gun and a ski mask. Olle has no idea what’s going on and no memory of what’s happened, but when the police chase him his instincts tell him to run. He sets off on a violent hunt for the real robbers. 30 million Kroner have been stolen from a cash repository in Sandefjord and several people were killed in the process. Olle is on his own, trying to find the people who are framing him. His only chance is to clear his name before the police catch up to him – but why has he been targeted?

Olle is forced to leave everything he holds dear behind in his quest for the truth behind what is happening to him, desperate to hide his true identity – and what made him run away many years ago. Who is Olle Hultén? What is he hiding? And is he guilty of what he is being accused of?

The Machinery is directed by Richard Holm (Gåsmamman, Heder and Johan Falk). Martin Persson and Karolina Heimburg at Anagram Sweden are producing. The shooting took place during sixteen weeks in Gothenburg, Strömstad and Sandefjord.

Press contact:
Fredrik Olimb
Head of PR, Viaplay Norway
+47 93290065
Nordic Entertainment Group

Production company: Anagram Sverige AB
Production year: 2020
Producer(s): Karolina Heimburg and Martin Persson
Executive Producer(s): Miira Paasilinna, Max Svahn, Mats Alders, Jon Petersson, Richard Holm, Fredrik Ljungberg,
Director: Richard Holm
Writer: Kjersti Ugelstad, Niclas Ekström, Karin Aspenström
Cast: Kristoffer Joner, Julia Schacht, Hanna Alström, Anastasios Soulis, Emilia Roosman, Emil Almén, Rune Temte, Björn Sundquist, Jakob Eklund, Angela Kovacs
Cinematographer: Andreas Wessberg
Editor: Sofia Lindgren, Roberth Nordh
International Sales: Mediawan

In co-production with Nordic Entertainment Group, Film i Väst and Helsinki Filmi with support from Business Finland, Audiovisual Production Incentive. The project was developed with the support of Lindholmen Science Park, Film i Skåne, SFI and Creative Europe MEDIA Programme.